Folk-rock group Desert Sparrow releases new EP ‘City of Dreams’

LONG BEACH, Calif., 2016-Jun-27 — /EPR Network/ — The Los Angeles folk-rock group known as Desert Sparrow have released their latest EP, “City of Dreams.” The album contains three original tracks for an approximate total listening time of 15 minutes. It has been proudly published as an independent release outside the direction of the corporate music industry. Sonorous, rural, and with roots wrapped deep in the rock ‘n’ roll tradition, “City of Dreams” from Desert Sparrow is an EP sure to resonate with fans of many music genres.

Hailing originally from Sydney, Australia, Desert Sparrow cite as main artistic influences ’60s rock, folk music, spaghetti westerns, and surf rock. The resulting amalgam is a rhythmic, highly narrative experience which paints images of solitude and hardship, independence and perseverance on backgrounds of hardpan deserts and windswept plains. Their sound often recalls moments from groups like Fleetwood Mac, Kings of Leon, and Angus & Julia Stone.

Desert Sparrow write that their new album chiefly describes “Moving to the big city to follow your dreams and the hardships that follow.” They also note that it’s about “accepting change, walking away from the bad and embracing the good,” as well as “cutting ties with old friends, moving forward, and taking risks.”

Desert Sparrow are Kylie Adams and Dave Carreno. Also appearing on their new record is guitarist Robo Hryn. Their “City of Dreams” EP is preceded by their 2014 EP, “Leave this Town,” the popularity of which preempted the group’s move from Australia to Los Angeles.

Desert Sparrow’s self-produced EP was engineered at Station House Studio in Echo Park, CA by Mark Rains (Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Shooter Jennings) and mastered at Sterling Sound, NY by Greg Calbi (Tame Impala, The War on Drugs, Kurt Vile, Noel Gallagher, Keith Richards). It features cover art and photography by Ian Maddox.

“City of Dreams” by Desert Sparrow is available at over 700 music stores online worldwide beginning 24 June 2016.

-S. McCauley
Lead Press Release Writer

Link to Music –

Website –

Matched content

Editor’s pick

Express Press Release Distribution